Keto Thin Crust Pizza

This was so yummy that I ate two of them. Usually, on keto, I don’t have the appetite for such indulgence, but this hit the spot so well that it was an exception.

Did I also mention that this is a total keto hack? I have discovered that the Mission Low Carb Tortillas make perfect “crispy” things such as crackers, nachos etc. This was just another great use for them. Again, the air fryer was really key in getting the texture that I wanted, but a convection oven would also do the trick.

If you are looking for thicker pizza crust made from a keto dough, then give this a try.

Keto Pizza Crustshttps://killerketoblog.wordpress.com/2016/01/11/fathead-pizza-crust/

It is important to use a wire basket so that the air is circulating around the tortilla in order to get it crispy. With my keto crackers, you don’t need to flip them part way through, but it seems that in order to make the tortilla into a pizza crust that is crispy all over, you need to do one flip in the middle of cooking.

A Winco opened in my town last week, and they have a whole section of pre cut pizza toppings. I grabbed the sausage and pepperoni for my creation, and it turned out perfect.

When selecting a pizza sauce, they have surprisingly fewer grams of carbs and sugars, so read those labels and don’t just grab for the marinara. the one that I found was a 1/4 cup serving size with 2 net carbs, but I don’t need nearly that much for the pizza.

Method:

Preheat the air fryer to 300 degrees. Spray the tortilla with avocado oil (sold as a spray in most stores now) on both sides. Place onto a rack or in a wire basket and air fry for about 3-5 minutes on each side. WATCH to be sure that it does not burn or get too dark.

Remove from oven or air fryer and increase the temperature to 450 degrees.

Allow the crust to cool COMPLETELY before topping it with anything.

Once cooled, top with sauce and use the back of a spoon to spread it to the edges of the crust. Sprinkle with desired toppings and cook at 450 degrees in the oven or air fryer until the toppings have melted.

You should have a yummy thin crust pizza with a big of crispy crust.

Leave a Reply